top of page
The Project's Coordinating Team

Who Is Involved?

The Stakeholder Network 

We have over 50 local and non-local partners involved in the Deal Island Peninsula Partnership (DIPP). Many of these individuals participate on behalf of local and regional organizations and government agencies (see below). Others participate as concerned residents, watermen/women, and community members. Together, our partners compose a diverse network that offers a wide range of expertise - both in experiential and scientific knowledge, experiences, perspectives, skills, and visions that importantly inform our work to enhance the resilience of the Deal Island Peninsula to social and environmental changes. The DIPP network is continually changing based on topics of interest and capacities, and we always welcome new participants. If you are interested in getting involved, please get in touch

DIPP Leadership and Coordination:

DIPP is coordinated by a lead coordinator who works in consultation with the DIPP Coordination Committee. The Coordination Committee includes individuals representing DIPP's five main stakeholder groups: local community, County government, State government, Academia, and Non-Governmental Organizations. Members are responsible for leading efforts to identify and secure financial and technical support for DIPP to undertake its mission; overseeing DIPP's collaborative projects; and directing the partnership's strategic planning activities. The Coordinator and Coordination Committee meets quarterly, with members serving two-year terms.

DIPP Coordinator: Christine Burns, (contact)

Local Community: ​

  • Michael Paolisso, Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland Department of Anthropology

  • Thom Stroschein, Resident 


County Government: ​

  • Catherine Skeeter, Somerset County 

State Government:

  • Christine Burns, Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Maryland Coastal Training Program

  • Mary Phipps Dickerson, Maryland Department of the Environment - Wetlands and Waterways Program, Tidal Wetlands Natural Resource Planner

  • Jenn Raulin, Maryland Department of Natural Resources - Chesapeake Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve 

University of Maryland

  • Jen Dindinger, Maryland Sea Grant Extensions

  • Brian Needelman, University of Maryland Department of Environmental Science and Technology​

Salisbury University 

  • Ryan Mello, Eastern Shore GIS Cooperative

Non-Governmental Organizations: 

  • Astrid Caldas, Union of Concerned Scientists

  • Elizabeth Van Dolah, Environmental Anthropologist, The Nature Conservancy Maryland/DC Chapter

Organizations, Agencies, and Communities Represented on the DIPP Network
bottom of page